I’m delighted to support the Alumni Awards as a Global Ambassador. Studying in the UK was an experience that changed my life and contributed to my success today. It is an honor to be supporting today’s recent outstanding UK university alumni by sharing their success stories and positive impact on the world. - Jimmy Choo, OBE (Global Ambassador of the Alumni Awards)

The Alumni Awards celebrate the achievements of international alumni who studied at UK universities within the last ten years.

These awards honor the outstanding achievements made by business professionals, entrepreneurs and community leaders who can demonstrate how their UK education has impacted their subsequent success. Read more UK alumni stories on the Study UK: Discover You website.

The Alumni Award 2017 Honorees and Finalists

Professional Achievement Award

The Professional Achievement Award recognizes UK alumni who have distinguished themselves through exemplary leadership and achievements in their professional industry.

  • Honoree: Oliver Jeffers, Artist and Illustrator (Ulster University)
  • Steven Barrett - Director, MIT Laboratory for Aviation and the Environment (University of Cambridge)
  • Amy Firth - Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Southern California (University of Bath)

Entrepreneurial Award

The Entrepreneurial Award recognizes UK alumni who are active in initiating or contributing to innovative new business opportunities that have the potential for strong growth. 

  • Honoree: Terence Yeo, Founder, Investor and CEO of Fusion Optix (University of Cambridge and Loughborough University)
  • Catherine Cuello-Fuente - Founder of GreenHopping (Coventry University)
  • Rahul Vohra - Founder and CEO of Superhuman (University of Cambridge)

Social Impact Award

The Social Impact Award recognizes UK alumni who have made an exceptional contribution and commitment to creating positive social change and improving the lives of others.

  • Honoree: Vicki Phillips, Education Strategist and Strategic Advisor (University of Lincoln)
  • Sasha Ghosh-Siminoff - President of People Demand Change LLP (University of Exeter)
  • Sarah Elizabeth Ippel - Founder and Executive Director of the Academy for Global Citizenship (University of Cambridge)
  • Reilly Wilson - Chairman of the Board and Co-Founder, play:groundNYC (University of Leeds)


Alumni Awards 2016

The finalists for the 2016 awards were announced on January 11, 2016, and the honorees were announced at a gala event on March 3, 2016. Distinguished guests at the gala included Matthew Rycroft (Ambassador and Permanent Representative, UK Mission to the UN), Paul Smith (Director USA, British Council), Gretchen Dobson (Global Strategist, Gretchen Dobson LLC), Mitch Robinson (2015 Professional Achievement Award honoree), Chandler Robinson (2015 Entrepreneurial Award honoree), and Ruthe Farmer (2015 Social Impact Award honoree).

Professional Achievement Award - Honoree and Finalists

  • Honoree: Richard Burgess, CEO, American Association of Independent Music (University of South Wales)

Richard Burgess is the CEO of the American Association of Independent Music, which helps to move independent music genres into the global music market. He is the author of two of the most successful music production textbooks to-date, and the former head of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, one of the nation's oldest and most successful independent music labels.

  • Ruth Massingill, Associate Professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Mass Communication at Sam Houston State University (Teesside University)
  • Eric Scott Sills, Medical Director at the Center for Advanced Genetics (University of Westminster)

Entrepreneurial Award - Honoree and Finalists

  • Honoree: Alison Sawyer, CEO and Co-Founder of Rebellion Photonics (University of Leeds)

Alison Sawyer is the CEO and co-founder of Rebellion Photonics, an advanced optics company focused on oil and gas safety with their Gas Cloud Imaging camera for continuous monitoring. She has been listed on Inc. Magazine's '30 under 30' list in 2012 and Forbes' '30 under 30' in Energy in 2014, and Rebellion Photonics was named Wall Street Journal's 'Start-up of the Year' in 2013.

  • Clifford Gross, CEO of TekCapital (University of Oxford)
  • Rick Ifland, Chair of Econ & Business Department and Director of the Eaton Program for Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Westmont College (University of Oxford)

Social Impact Award - Honoree and Finalists

  • Honoree: Patricia Nagi Mechael, Principle and Policy Lead at Health Enabled (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)

Patricia Nagi Mechael is the principal and policy lead at HealthEnabled, an Africa-based not-for-profit that helps governments integrate life-saving digital health solutions into their health systems. She has a PhD in the field of mHealth, and is on faculty at Johns Hopkins, Princeton and Columbia University.

  • Morgan Davison, External Engagement Adviser for the Department of Homeland Security’s Blue Campaign (Keele University)
  • Andrew Shaughnessy, Manager of Public Policy at Promo (University College London)
  • Peter Williams, Founder and Executive Director at ARCHIVE Global (University of Oxford)

Alumni Awards 2015

Professional Achievement Award

  • Honoree: Mitch Robinson, U.S. Department of Defense (Aberystwyth University)

Mitch Robinson is a leading international law expert at the U.S. Department of Defense, specializing in human rights and the Guantanamo Bay cases. He recently published the first installments of his novel series, 22:10.

Entrepreneurial Award

  • Honoree: Chandler Robinson, Co-founder and Chief Executive of Tactic Pharmaceuticals (University of Cambridge)

Chandler Robinson is the co-founder and chief executive of Tactic Pharmaceuticals, a biopharmaceutical company developing compounds for unmet medical needs. He is currently working towards a treatment for Wilson's disease, a fatal genetic disorder.

Social Impact Award

  • Honoree: Ruthe Farmer, Chief Strategist and Growth Officer for the National Center for Women & Information Technology (University of Oxford)

Ruthe Farmer is the Chief Strategist and Growth Officer for the National Center for Women & Information Technology. She developed NCWIT Aspirations in Computing into the U.S.' largest technology talent program for young women, and is a champion of equality and representation of women in technology.

Contact the Alumni Awards team

Email: AlumniAward@britishcouncil.org

Twitter: @StudyUKBritish #StudyUK

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/StudyUK.BritishCouncil/

External links