The 2017 Alumni Awards Winners - Oliver Jeffers, Dr. Vicki Phillips and Dr. Terence Yeo with British Council USA Director Leigh Gibson. ©

Russ Rowland

Celebrating the achievements of alumni in the USA

When outstanding individuals receive a world-class education in the UK, the effects can last a lifetime. The Alumni Awards pay tribute to the impact that alumni of UK higher education institutions have had in their chosen field, and how this was sparked by their studies in the UK.

There are three award categories: Professional Achievement, Entrepreneurial and Social Impact.

  • The Professional Achievement Award recognises alumni whose work has created change in their chosen profession.
  • The Entrepreneurial Award recognises alumni who have developed innovative solutions to problems within their industry.
  • The Social Impact Award recognises alumni whose work has positively changed their society or community.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on March 26, 2018.

Meet this year's finalists

Among stiff competition from a variety of strong applicants, these candidates stood out. Find out what makes their story unique.

Professional Achievement Award

Srilakshmi Raj, University of Cambridge and University of Oxford

Katrin Schmidt, Nottingham Trent University

David Edelman, University of Oxford

Entrepreneurial Award

Alireza Tahmaseb, Imperial College London

Arjun Nagendran, University of Manchester

Magundappa Ravi Hadimani, Cardiff University and Newcastle University

Social Impact Award

Jonas Nguh, University of Dundee

Sara Nasserzadeh, Middlesex University

William Kellibrew, University of Sunderland

External links